Home > Splash Page > Board Meeting Highlights – June 7, 2021

Board Meeting Highlights – June 7, 2021

1. Reserves Required to Balance Budget in Challenging Times
After several months of development discussions, deliberation and direction, the Board formally approved the 2021-22 budget for the next fiscal year. Jerrold Pidborochynski, Chief Financial Officer, presented the details of the budget that includes staff reductions through attrition, increased efficiencies in several areas, and approval of $950K contribution from accumulated surplus. The Board considered the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic as an exceptional circumstance that warranted the use of surplus to maintain the excellent level of educational programming the division provides.

2. Affirmation of Inclusion and Diversity
The meeting began with an expression of sorrow and a moment of silence to acknowledge the tragedy of the recently revealed deaths of at least 215 children in the Kamloops Residential School. The division grieves with those who suffered and lost family members in residential schools and the Board affirms the importance of continuing its work to actualize the Calls to Action. The Board also affirmed its support for the LGBTQ2S+ community and the celebration of Pride month in the formal approval of a modified division logo in Pride colours. A local Pride group with several SRPSD staff and students laid the foundation for this work with a presentation to the Board in 2019. The Board acknowledged that work and recognized the need to actualize its belief in the
celebration of human diversity that is part of its foundational policy statements. The current logo variations are approved for use now but in the coming school year the Board will conduct an inclusive process to design and select a pride-modified division logo that we will use for years to come.

3. Distance Learning Centre in the Spotlight
The great work of the Principal and staff at the Distance Learning Centre was a topic of
conversation at the recent Board meeting. In record short time last fall, the team at the DLC created a school that serves hundreds of students and families who prefer the online learning model, especially during the pandemic. Many students will return to a traditional school, but for those whose circumstances prevent that, the DLC provides so much more than computer based lessons. The Board was impressed by the work that teachers and staff have done to provide connection, engagement, clubs, field trip opportunities and a community and were pleased to see the virtual open house and other details at https://dlc.srsd119.ca/.

The Board hopes this brief update can provide information and promote communication. If you want further details about the Board and its meetings, you can find information at this link SRPSD Board Information or under the “About Us” tab at www.srsd119.ca. You are also encouraged to contact your local trustee.
We look forward to the connection!

SRPSD Board of Education
Barry Hollick, Chair bhollick@srsd119.ca Arne Lindberg alindberg@srsd119.ca
Darlene Rowden,

Vice-Chair

drowden@srsd119.ca Jaimie Smith-Windsor jsmith-windsor@srsd119.ca
Cher Bloom cbloom@srsd119.ca Alan Nunn anunn@srsd119.ca
Bill Gerow, bgerow@srsd119.ca Michelle Vickers mvickers@srsd119.ca
Grant Gustafson ggustafson@srsd119.ca Bill Yeaman byeaman@srsd119.ca