Board Meeting Highlights

January 11, 2021 Board Meeting

-1- Global Sports Academy Successes and Expansion

The partnership between SRPSD and Global Sport has achieved outstanding success for our student athletes. Carlton Comprehensive Principal Jeff Court and Superintendent Cory Trann provided a midyear report that included video testimonials from both students and parents about the excellent local initiative. Highlights shared include sport-specific training, academic rigor and the citizenship and leadership skills that pervade the program. The multi-sport program currently has a hockey focus with national caliber coaches and plans are underway to bring that level of excellence as the program expands into Golf and programming for Grade 7-8 students for the next school year.

-2- Trustee Learning & Development

While COVID has prevented the usual provincial gatherings of trustees for professional development, the SRPSD trustees continue to pursue learning and planning opportunities. Later this week, the Board will engage in a 2-day planning seminar to review and discuss a number of items related to effective governance and leadership. In addition, the SRPSD trustees will be participating in offering over 20 online modules scheduled in 90-minute blocks over the next month. These sessions will support new and returning trustees in their role as educational leaders and as effective voices in local government.

-3- Strong Support for Inclusive Education

Superintendent Tom Michaud reported on the Student Support Services programming to highlight both the extensive needs and effective programming to meet those needs. While SRPSD has significantly higher than average students per capita with intensive needs, those students are succeeding with support from excellent staff in the classrooms, at the division level and in SRPSD specialized learning centers that do not exist elsewhere in the region. Highlights of the report include the increase in educational support teachers, the support for English Language Learners and the capacity-building work done in the division to support students. Evidence in the report also outlined SRPSD’s strong support for student and staff mental health and wellness.

The Board hopes this brief update can provide information and promote communication. If you want further details about the Board and its meetings, you can find information at this link SRPSD Board Information or under the “About Us” tab at www.srsd119.ca. You are also encouraged to contact your local trustee.

 We look forward to the connection! 

SRPSD Board of Education

Barry Hollick, Chair bhollick@srsd119.ca

Arne Lindberg alindberg@srsd119.ca

Darlene Rowden, Vice-Chair drowden@srsd119.ca

Jaimie Smith-Windsor jsmith-windsor@srsd119.ca

Cher Bloom cbloom@srsd119.ca

Alan Nunn anunn@srsd119.ca

Bill Gerow, bgerow@srsd119.ca

Michelle Vickers mvickers@srsd119.ca

Grant Gustafson ggustafson@srsd119.ca

Bill Yeaman byeaman@srsd119.ca

SRPSD Covid Response Plan

Updated November 26, 2020

Safe Schools Parent Information

Back to School Summary Video