Home > Splash Page > Sept. 13, 2021 Board Meeting Highlights

Sept. 13, 2021 Board Meeting Highlights

1. Dr. Chokani Provides Compelling COVID Information At its recent regular meeting, the Board was pleased to participate in a discussion with Dr. Khami Chokani, the Local Medical Health Officer and lead of the local pandemic response team. Dr. Chokani outlined the recent history, current trends and future projections of COVID case rates, hospitalizations, vaccination rates and other information specific to the communities in SRPSD. Trustees appreciated the time, clarity and conversation as it provided valuable information as the Board provides direction and oversight for the Division. The need for vaccinations among all eligible residents was obvious and the Board indicated its support for vaccine promotion. Further Board communication will follow. 2. Trustees Review Plans for Professional Development The Board Development Committee provided a report and led a conversation about trustee learning opportunities. The committee was pleased to hear the positive feedback on its work last year and the many trustee development events provided for the Board. Trustee participation was significant as there were many virtual events on topics ranging from finance to reconciliation to governance and more. The Development Committee has surveyed trustees to establish priorities for this year’s development and trustee learning. Good governance requires continuous learning and is actively modeling lifelong learning as educational leaders as an effective governance team. 3. Safety Report Shows Progress Safety is a way of life in SRPSD and the recent Safety Report to the Board indicates a growing culture of safety. The report outlined Workers Compensation Board data from January to July 2021 and it reveals a decline in incidents causing injury from 45 to 20 to 15 which is better than the industry standard. The Board is committed to Mission Zero and knows that the only acceptable number of workplace injuries is zero so it sees opportunities and an obligation to continue reducing workplace injuries. The Division is one of the only school divisions that is COR Certified and in support of that certification, an external audit is completed every three years and the next one will occur in 2021. These external audits is one of the many pieces that contribute to the Division’s safety program. The Board hopes this brief update can provide information and promote communication.  If you want further details about the Board and its meetings, you can find information at this link SRPSD Board Information or under the “About Us” tab at www.srsd119.ca.  You are also encouraged to contact your local trustee. We look forward to the connection!

SRPSD Board of Education
Barry Hollick, Chair bhollick@srsd119.ca Arne Lindberg alindberg@srsd119.ca
Darlene Rowden, Vice-Chair drowden@srsd119.ca Jaimie Smith-Windsor jsmith-windsor@srsd119.ca
Cher Bloom cbloom@srsd119.ca Alan Nunn anunn@srsd119.ca
Bill Gerow, bgerow@srsd119.ca Michelle Vickers mvickers@srsd119.ca
Grant Gustafson ggustafson@srsd119.ca Bill Yeaman byeaman@srsd119.ca