

MISSION: To strive for excellence in education and to seek to

maximize each child's unique learning ability.

VISION: *Pursuit of excellence, respect of diversity and*

achievement for all.

MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE SASKATCHEWAN RIVERS PUBLIC SCHOOL DIVISION NO. 119 HELD IN THE BOARD ROOM, EDUCATION CENTRE, 545 - 11TH STREET EAST, ON MONDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2020 AT 4:00 P.M.

PRESENT:

MRS. C. BLOOM, Trustee MR. B. GEROW, Trustee MR. G. GUSTAFSON, Trustee MR. B. HOLLICK, Trustee MR. A. LINDBERG, Trustee MR A. NUNN, Trustee
MS. D. ROWDEN, Trustee
MS. J. SMITH-WINDSOR, Trustee
DR. M. VICKERS, Trustee

MR. B. YEAMAN, Trustee

SENIOR ADMINISTRATION

Mr. R. Bratvold, Director of Education Mrs. J. Hingley, Superintendent of Schools Mr. T. Michaud; Superintendent of Schools Mr. C. Trann, Superintendent of Schools Mr. N. Finch, Superintendent of Schools Mr. M. Hurd, Superintendent of Schools Mr. J. Pidborochynski, Chief Financial Officer Mrs. J. Ward, Administrative Services Officer

STUDENT TRUSTEES

K. Lam (absent)

CALL TO ORDER:

R. Bratvold, Director of Education, called the meeting to order.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA:

(Motion #20R-95)

Moved by A. Lindberg that the agenda be approved as presented. Carried.

ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR:

- R. Bratvold called for nominations for the position of Board Chair of the Board of Education.
- D. Rowden nominated B. Hollick as Board Chair for the ensuing year.
- B. Hollick was declared elected as Board Chair, by acclamation, for the ensuing year.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR:

- B. Hollick called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Education.
- B. Hollick nominated D. Rowden as Vice-Chair for the ensuing year.
- M. Vickers nominated J. Smith-Windsor as Vice-Chair for the ensuring year.
- D. Rowden was declared elected as Vice-Chair, by ballot, for the ensuing year.

Page 2 – Minutes of the Organizational Meeting (November 16, 2020) Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIR ROTATION:

April, May, June, 2022

November, December, 2020, January, 2021
February, March, April, 2021
May, June, September, 2021
October, November, December 2021
January, February, March, 2022
B. Gerow
C. Bloom
A. Lindberg
A. Nunn

• September, October, November, 2022 J. Smith-Windsor

December, 2022, January, February, 2023
 March, April, May, 2023
 M. Vickers
 B. Yeaman

June, September, October, 2023
 November, December 2023, January, 2024
 B. Gerow

• February, March, April, 2024 G. Gustafson

May, June, September, 2024
 October, November, 2024
 A. Lindberg
 A. Nunn

APPOINTMENTS FOR THE SCHOOL DIVISION:

(a) Auditor

(Motion #20R-96)

Moved by D. Rowden that the Board re-affirm the appointment of Meyers Norris Penny (MNP) LLP as the auditors for the school division for 2021.

Carried.

D. Rowden

(b) Agent of Record (Insurance agent or broker):

(Motion #20R-97)

Moved by J. Smith-Windsor that AON Risk Solutions be the agent of record for the school division for the year 2021.

Carried.

(c) Solicitor:

(Motion #20R-98)

Moved by B. Yeaman that the firm of Novus Law Group be the solicitor for the school division for the 2021 year.

Carried.

ESTABLISH THE FOLLOWING:

(a) Regular meeting date, hour and place:

(Motion #20R-99)

Moved by M. Vickers that the Regular meetings of the Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division be held, subject to change, on one Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m., with the Closed Session at 4:00 p.m., in the Board Room, Education Centre, 545 - 11th Street East, and that the Board Chair and the Director of Education be authorized to cancel a Regular meeting if the agenda does not warrant holding a meeting.

Carried.

(b) Planning Meeting Date, Hour and Place:

(Motion #20R-100)

Moved by A. Lindberg that the planning meetings of the Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division be held, subject to change, on one Monday of each month usually from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. at the Education Centre, 545 - 11th Street East.

Carried.

(c) Approval of accounts:

(Motion #20R-101)

Moved by M. Vickers that the Chief Financial Officer be authorized for the 2021 year to certify all accounts for payment.

Carried.

(d) Signing officers:

(Motion #20R-102)

Moved by G. Gustafson that the Board Chair and the Chief Financial Officer be the signing officers for the school division, with the Vice-Chair to sign in the absence of the Board Chair and the Manager of Financial Services to sign in the absence of the Chief Financial Officer for the year 2021.

Carried.

(e) <u>Amount of temporary credit with a financial institution in Prince Albert:</u>

(Motion #20R-103)

Moved by A. Lindberg that the school division continue with Concentra Financial a credit limit of five million dollars for the 2021 year.

Carried.

(f) <u>Attendance and Transportation Services Areas</u>

(Motion #20R-104)

Moved by G. Gustafson that the Board confirm the current attendance and transportation services areas for 2020-2021 school year.

Carried.

(g) Hours of Public Access to All Central Offices:

(Motion #20R-105)

Moved by A. Nunn that public access to the Education Centre/Support Services Centre during regular hours be from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon and from 12:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. and during summer hours be from 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Monday to Friday except for statutory holidays. Carried.

(h) <u>Indemnity, honorarium and expenses to be paid to trustees:</u>

(Motion #20R-106)

Moved by A. Lindberg that the revised Trustee Remuneration Guidelines be approved for the 2020-2021.

Carried.

Page 4 – Minutes of the Organizational Meeting (November 16, 2020) Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division

(i) <u>Indemnity, honorarium and expenses to be paid to trustees:</u>

(Motion #20R-106)

Moved by A. Lindberg that the revised Trustee Remuneration Guidelines be approved for the 2020-2021.

Carried.

EXTERNAL BOARD APPOINTMENTS:

(a) <u>Employee Bargaining Committees:</u>

Out of Scope Bargaining Committee: Barry Hollick Darlene Rowden
 CUPE Bargaining Committee: Grant Gustafson
 LINC Bargaining Committee: Jaimie Smith-Windsor

(b) Operational Committees:

• Student Discipline Committee:

Cher Bloom Bill Gerow Grant Gustafson Arne Lindberg
 Principal Selection Committee: Michelle Vickers
 Vice-Principal Selection Committee: Bill Yeaman

(c) Committees with Third Parties:

Saskatchewan High School Athletic Association: Bill Yeaman
 Public Section Executive Member: Alan Nunn
 City Liaison Committee: Barry Hollick Arne Lindberg

(d) <u>Standing Committees/Ad Hoc Committees:</u>

• Saskatchewan Rivers Students for Change:

Cher Bloom Barry Hollick Arne Lindberg

Jaimie Smith-Windsor Michelle Vickers

Board Development Committee (BDC):

Bill Gerow Darlene Rowden Jaimie Smith-Windsor

Facilities Committee:

Arne Lindberg Alan Nunn Darlene Rowden

Bill Yeaman

Policy Committee:

Grant Gustafson Jaimie Smith-Windsor Michelle Vickers

• SRSPD Foundation:

Barry Hollick Arne Lindberg Darlene Rowden

Invitational Shared Service Initiative (ISSI):

Bill Gerow

(e) School Community Council Clusters:

B. Hollick requested that trustees indicate their top five choices for schools (a mix of urban and rural) and provide this information to J. Ward by the end of the meeting. The school community cluster groups will be approved at the November 30 Board meeting.

Page 5 – Minutes of the Organizational Meeting (November 16, 2020) Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division (Motion #20R-107) Moved by G. Gustafson that the appointments to the respective Boards and Committees for 2020-2021 be ratified. Carried.	
(Motion #20R-108) Moved by A. Lindberg that the meeting be adjourned.	
Carried.	eting be adjourned.
SIGNATURES:	
Board Chair	Administrative Services Officer
November 30, 2020	
Date of Approval	