

MISSION: To strive for excellence in education and to seek to maximize each child's unique learning ability.

THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING FOR THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE SASKATCHEWAN RIVERS SCHOOL DIVISION NO. 119

Board Room, Education Centre 545 – 11th Street East, Prince Albert, SK Monday, November 6, 2017 5:00 p.m.

AGENDA

- 1. CALL TO ORDER BY R. BRATVOLD, DIRECTOR OF EDUCATION
- 2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA
- 3. ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR
- 4. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR
- 5. DEPUTY CHAIR ROTATION SET AT THE SEPTEMBER 11, 2017 BOARD MEETING AS FOLLOWS:
 - October, November, December, 2017
 - January, February, March, 2018
 - April, May, June, 2018
 - September, October, November, 2018
 - December, 2018, January, February, 2019
 - March, April, May, 2019
 - June, September, October, 2019
 - November, December, 2019, January, 2020
 - February, March, April, 2020
 - May, June, September, 2020
 - October 2020

John McIvor Darlene Rowden Jaimie Smith-Windsor Michelle Vickers Bill Yeaman Bill Gerow Grant Gustafson Arne Lindberg John McIvor Darlene Rowden Jaimie Smith-Windsor

6. APPOINTMENT OF:

(a) <u>Auditor:</u>

"That the firm of Deloitte be the auditors for the school division for the 2018 year."

(b) <u>Agent of Record (Insurance Agent or Broker)</u>: Recommendation:

"That Marsh Canada Limited be the agent of record for the school division for the year 2018."

(c) <u>Solicitor:</u>

Recommendation:

"That the Novus Law Group be the solicitor for the school division for the year 2018."

7. ESTABLISH THE FOLLOWING:

(a) <u>Regular meeting date, hour and place:</u> Recommendation:

"That the Regular meetings of the Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division be held, subject to change, on one Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m., with the Closed Session at 3:00 p.m., in the Board Room, Education Centre, 545 - 11th Street East, and that the Board Chair and the Director of Education be authorized to cancel a Regular meeting if the agenda does not warrant holding a meeting."

(b) <u>Committee of the Whole/Strategic Planning meeting date, hour and place:</u>

A copy of the Committee of the Whole/Strategic Planning meetings for 2017-2018 school year is as follows:

- Monday, February 12, 2018 Planning Session 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
- Monday, May 14, 2018 Planning Session 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

(c) <u>Approval of accounts:</u>

Recommendation:

"That the Chief Financial Officer be authorized for the year 2018 to certify all accounts for payment."

(d) <u>Signing officers for the school division:</u>

Recommendation:

"That the Board Chair and the Chief Financial Officer be the signing officers for the school division, with the Vice-Chair to sign in the absence of the Board Chair and the Manager of Financial Services to sign in the absence of the Chief Financial Officer for the year 2018."

(e) <u>Amount of temporary credit with a financial institution in Prince Albert:</u> Recommendation:

"That the School Division establish with Conexus Credit Union a credit limit of five million dollars for the year 2018."

(f) <u>Hours of Public Access to All Central Offices:</u> Recommendation:

"That public access to the Education Centre/Support Services Centre during regular hours be from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 12:30 to 4:30 p.m. and during summer hours be from 8:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Monday to Friday except for statutory holidays."

 (h) <u>Trustee Remuneration Guidelines:</u> A copy of the current guidelines is attached. Recommendation: "That Trustee Remuneration Guidelines be approved for the 2017-2018 year."

10. EXTERNAL BOARD APPOINTMENTS:

(a) <u>Employee Bargaining Committee:</u>

(a)	<u>Employee Barganning Committee.</u>				
	 Out of Scope Bargaining Committee (Board Chair/Vice-Chair): 				
	<u>2016-2017</u>	<u>2017-2018</u>			
	Barry Hollick	Board Chair			
	Jaimie Smith-Windsor	Vice-Chair			
	CLIDE Devesining Committee				
	CUPE Bargaining Committee:				
	<u>2016-2017</u>	<u>2017-2018</u>			
	George McHenry/J. Smith-Windsor				
	LINC Teacher Bargaining Committee:				
	2016-2017	2017-2018			
	Jaimie Smith-Windsor				
(h)	Operational Committee:				
(b)	Operational Committee:				
	Student Discipline Committee:				
	<u>2016-2017</u>	<u>2017-2018</u>			
	Bill Gerow				
	Grant Gustafson				
	Arne Lindberg				
	Darlene Rowden				
	• Principal Selection Committee:				
	-	2017 2010			
	2016-2017	<u>2017-2018</u>			
	John McIvor				
(c)	Committees with Third Parties:	Committees with Third Parties:			
	Saskatchewan High School Athle	tic Association:			
	2016-2017	2017-2018			
	Bill Yeaman				
	biii reaman				
	Public Section Executive Membe				
	<u>2016-2017</u>	<u>2017-2018</u>			
	Darlene Rowden				
	City Liaison Committee:				
	2016-2017	2017-2018			
	Barry Hollick (Board Chair)	Board Chair			
	Arne Lindberg				
	Ame Lindberg				
<i>/</i> 1\					
(d)	Standing Committee / Ad Hoc:				
	 Saskatchewan Rivers Students for Change: 				
	<u>2016-2017</u>	<u>2017-2018</u>			
	Barry Hollick				
	Jaimie Smith-Windsor				
	Michelle Vickers				

• Welcome Back Barbeque: <u>2016-2017</u> Barry Hollick George McHenry Bill Yeaman

• Program Enhancement Grant representative:

2017-2018

- <u>2016-2017</u> Bill Gerow Arne Lindberg George McHenry
- SRSPD Foundation: 2016-2017 Barry Hollick Arne Lindberg Darlene Rowden
- Invitational Shared Service Initiative (ISSI):
 <u>2016-2017</u> 2017-2018
 John McIvor

(d) <u>School Community Council Groups:</u> (Revised September 11, 2017)

The current School Community Council Clusters are as follows:

<u>Clus</u> -	<u>ter 1:</u> St. Louis Public School Westview Public School		<mark>2016-2017</mark> Darlene Rowden	<u>2017-2018</u>
-	West Central Public School	Alternate:	Bill Yeaman	
<u>Clus</u> - - -	<u>ter 2:</u> Prince Albert Collegiate Institute (École Vickers Public School Spruce Home Public School	PACI) Alternate:	2016-2017 Michelle Vickers Jaimie Smith-Windsor	<u>2017-2018</u>
<mark>Clus</mark> - - - -	ter 3: Arthur Pechey Public School Carlton Comprehensive Public Hig East Central Public School Vincent Massey Public School Red Wing Public School	h School Alternate:	2016-2017 Barry Hollick George McHenry/ Jaimie Smith-Windsor	<u>2017-2018</u>

Cluster 4: - Birch Hills Public School		2016-2017 Grant Gustafson	<u>2017-2018</u>
 Riverside Public School W.J. Berezowsky Public School 	Alternate:	Arne Lindberg	
Cluster 5: - Christopher Lake Public School - Meath Park Public School		2016-2017 Jaimie Smith-Windsor	<u>2017-2018</u>
- Queen Mary Public School	Alternate:	Grant Gustafson	
Cluster 6: - Big River Public High School - Canwood Public High		<u>2016-2017</u> Bill Gerow	<u>2017-2018</u>
 Debden Public School T.D. Michel Public School 	Alternate:	John McIvor	
Cluster 7: - John Diefenbaker Public School	<u>2016-2017</u> Bill Yeaman	<u>2017-2018</u>	
 King George Public School Kinistino Public School 	Alternate:	Darlene Rowden	
Cluster 8: - Osborne Public School		2016-2017 Arne Lindberg	<u>2017-2018</u>
 Princess Margaret Public School Wesmor Public High School 	Alternate:	Michelle Vickers	
Cluster 9: - Shellbrook Elementary Public School		<u>2016-2017</u> John McIvor	<u>2017-2018</u>
 Wild Rose Public School W.P. Sandin Public High School 	Alternate:	Bill Gerow	

Recommendation:

"That the appointments to the respective Boards and Committees be ratified."

11. ADJOURNMENT