

MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release Nov. 16, 2016

School Boards Association Elects New Provincial Executive

REGINA - The 28 member boards of the Saskatchewan School Boards Association (SSBA) have chosen a new Provincial Executive to lead the organization.

The new Executive was selected during the SSBA's Annual General Meeting this week and its members are as follows:

- Dr. Shawn Davidson, Prairie South Board of Education
 - President
- Aleana Young, Regina Public Board of Education
 - o Vice-President
- **Duane Favel.** Ile a la Crosse Board of Education
 - o Aboriginal Constituency
- Jerome Niezgoda, Christ the Teacher Catholic Board of Education
 - o Catholic Constituency
- Jaimie Smith-Windsor, Saskatchewan Rivers Board of Education
 - o Central Constituency
- Martin Prince, Conseil scolaire fransaskois
 - o CSF Constituency
- Joe Daigneault, Northern Lights Board of Education
 - Northern Constituency
- Janet Kotylak, Prairie Valley Board of Education
 - Southern Constituency
- Donna Banks, Saskatoon Public Board of Education
 - o Urban Public Constituency

The SSBA Provincial Executive members are all school board trustees. Representatives for the SSBA's seven constituencies are chosen by the constituency members. All 28 school boards in the province are eligible to vote for the SSBA President and Vice-President.

The Executive advocates with a unified, province-wide voice on matters identified as important by the membership; promotes the important work of boards of education in improving outcomes for all students; and, builds relationships with key education sector partners and other stakeholders to ensure views of boards are represented in all considerations.

-30-

For more information, please contact: Joe Couture Communications Saskatchewan School Boards Association

Cell: 306-502-3546

Email: jcouture@saskschoolboards.ca